BCS Specialist Certificate in Service Desk and Incident Management — A 3 day course

contact usEnquire about this course
Retired Course; no longer available


This course is no longer available from GBdirect.

This course provides candidates with an understanding of industry best practice in relation to the operation of the Service Desk function and the Incident Management process.

In addition to the principles underpinning these service management disciplines the course provides practical experience of planning, implementing, operating, monitoring, reporting, and improving a Service Desk and the management of incidents.

The Service Desk and Incident Management Specialist Certificate qualification reflects the general industry best practices currently in use in IT Service Management (ITSM) and particularly Service Desk and Incident Management (SDIM).

The subject matter within this qualification is based on best practice, frameworks and standards including ITIL®, COBIT and ISO/IEC 20000.

This qualification forms part of the 'ITSM Specialist' series.


Holders of the BCS Specialist Certificate in SDIM will be able to demonstrate their competence in, and their ability to:



Service Desk function and Incident Management process, based on industry best practices

Tools, methods and techniques

SDIM roles and responsibilities - SFIA and ITIL®

Control, measurement and reporting activities

Analysis of incidents, statistics and trends

Interfaces and dependencies

Planning, improvement and implementation


This course has been retired and is no longer available.

Suitable For

This course is aimed at those working or preparing to work in a Service Desk function and/or within an Incident Management process whether at a technical, operational, supervisory or managerial level. This course may also be of interest to Project Managers, Business Managers and Business Process Owners.

The purpose of the Specialist qualification in SDIM is to certify that the candidate has gained the knowledge of relevant industry best practices and is capable of applying them in a working environment.

This course is aimed at:

Individuals who require a working knowledge of the industry best practice used in SDIM and how it may be used to enhance the quality of ITSM within an organisation.

IT professionals who are working within an organisation which has adopted and adapted some of these practices and are required to deliver or improve SDIM within an ongoing Service Improvement Programme (SIP).


Possession of the ITIL® V3 Foundation Certificate in Service Management or the ITIL® V2 Foundation Certificate in Service Management plus the Bridging Certificate is mandatory before the qualification can be awarded.

Candidates who do not yet hold either of the above (e.g. they are waiting for their Foundation result) will have their exam result withheld until they can provide evidence of certification.

On attending the course please ensure you provide documented evidence that you have passed the ITIL® Version 3 Foundation Certificate or ITIL® Version 2-3 Foundation Bridge Certificate by either presenting your certificate (or a copy of your certificate ) to the course lecturer. If you cannot provide the physical certificate, then as a minimum you must provide the certificate number.

If the exam board was not BCS, you must also provide the name of the examination board who issued the certificate. Failure to comply with this requirement will result in you exam results being withheld by the exam accreditation body.

If you have lost your certificate or you do not have a record of your certificate number please contact BCS directly before attending the course. BCS/ISEB can be contacted on the following number 01793 417655.

Success on the course will be enhanced by candidates spending at least 10 hours on reviewing their ITIL® Foundation material prior to attending a BCS Specialist course.


The examination is a 1.5 hours 'closed book', multiple-choice paper. There are 25 questions which are scenario based.

Normally, the examination will be held on the last afternoon of the course. However, BCS will normally also arrange four central examinations per year in March, June, September and December; please contact the BCS for further details.

The examination fee is included in the course price.

This qualification forms part of the BCS ITSM Specialist series.

* ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited.