BCS Practitioner Certificate in Information Risk Management — A 5 day course

contact usEnquire about this course


This course covers the BCS/ISEB Practitioner Certificate in Information Risk Management for information systems and closely follows the approaches recommended in the ISO 27001 and ISO 27005 Standards.

By the end of the course, delegates will have a detailed understanding of all the key components of risk management, and be able to return to their organisation and make a significant contribution to the risk management process.

The course will enable delegates to confidently sit the BCS Practitioner Certificate in Information Risk Management examination which is taken on the last afternoon of the course.


On completion of this course delegates will be able to:


Concepts and Importance of Information Risk Management

The Information Risk Management Environment

Stages of Information Risk Management

Action and Implementation

Information Classification Schemes

Practical Exercises

Publicly scheduled dates, locations, and prices

A schedule of dates for this subject is not currently available. Please call 0333 210 0140 or use our contact form to enquire about places and availability.

Suitable For

The course will primarily benefit those involved in information security, audit and those engaged in the implementation and operation of formal information risk management, including those charged with PCI DSS and any corporate governance compliance requirement.


Candidates should ideally have at least 2 years experience in information security and risk management.

An understanding of information security standards, such as ISO 27001, ISO 27002 and ISO 27005 would be beneficial, as would attendance on the Certificate in Information Security Management Principles course (or similar).


The course fee includes sitting the BCS Practitioner Certificate in Information Risk Management examination. The 3 hour examination will comprise:

Students will need to obtain a pass mark of at least 65% in Section 1 and an overall pass mark of 65% or more to pass the exam.